JEC Racing - Awards Dinner

On January 13th, race drivers & supporters assembled at the Stratford Manor Hotel to celebrate winners of the 2017 race season.

Stratford Manor Hotel, Stratford upon Avon

The racing dinner & awards ceremony was held on the 13th January 2018, rounding off a close fought & exciting 2017 for this, the 19th year of JEC Racing. This had been another successful and closely fought season taking in the best race venues across Britain, additionally including two rounds at the prestigious Grand Prix circuit at Zandvoort, (Netherlands). So plenty to celebrate!

Diners were greeted by a beautifully prepared suite, featuring subtle lighting and candlelit tables, whilst at the front was a central display of the racing trophies supported by a number of largescale canvas prints of the race cars in action, the whole scene showcased with feature lighting. The prints were presented to drivers as gifts, courtesy of Roger Gage who, together with that of his sons Nick and Chris, produce images of the highest quality, which are reproduced in magazines & websites everywhere.

We were delighted to welcome our sponsors, Phil Weedon, Managing Director Kelsey Publishing, World, James Ramm (also a driver) Managing Director and Alan Meaker Technical & Motorsport Director Toyo Tyres, who presented the trophies.

After a fine meal, with complimentary wine, the awards were presented before the more informal part of the evening. After a great seasons racing, this is an opportunity to relax, and relax they did! The dance floor was never empty & the evening was enhanced by an impromptu cabaret act from Colin Philpott, displaying a hitherto unsuspected talent, almost equalling his driving skills! Colin’s fine voice kept the dance floor full to the very end of the night. After the disco closed, we repaired to the bar, where many a tale was told of heroic races & general reminiscing over the last 19 years.

Drivers (or more accurately in some cases, their long-suffering mechanics) are preparing their cars for 2018, the JEC’s 20th season of racing. Our first races are at Snetterton, Norfolk on 7/8th April. This will be preceded by our Brands Hatch trackday on February 28th – why not come and join us in your roadcar? See the JEC Website for more details

More pictures can be found at:

Terry Dye

Competitions Secretary

Jaguar Enthusiasts’ Club.


Amongst the many recipients were the following:

John Dickinson XJS Trophy - Simon Dunford

Most Improved Driver Trophy – Michael Holt

Phil Bradford Spirit of JEC Racing Trophy – Chris Robinson

Phil Bradford Full Throttle Trophy – Tom Butterfield

Jane Griffiths-Hopwood Memorial Trophy - Swallows Independent Jaguar

Merville Kirkham Memorial Trophy – Tim Morrant

Duncan Hamilton Trophy – Chris Keith-Lucas

Norman Dewis Trophy – Marc Gordon

Toyo Tires/ Jaguar Saloon & GT Championship

Results: Class A

Winner - Michael Holt, Runner Up - Simon Blunt, 3rd - Daniel Stewart

Class B

Winner – Rodney Frost, Runner Up - Chris Boon,3rd - Dean Sewell

Class C

Winner - James Ramm, Runner Up - Colin Philpott, 3rd - Guy Connew

Class D

Winner - Adam Powderham, Runner Up -Tom Robinson, 3rd Patrick Doyle


Winner – Rodney Frost, Runner Up – James Ramm, 3rd – Colin Philpott

JEC Awards

Ever thought of getting involved? Why not become one of our racing drivers or come down and support your favourite!

Get Involved