JEC Racing drivers pull on a different kind of suit for annual awards

Swapping race suits for dinner suits, our annual black-tie end of season awards dinner was held on 11th January at a new venue, the Oxford Belfry Hilton Double Tree hotel. We were delighted the event was once again well supported by our racing fraternity and their partners with close to a hundred guests attending.

The evening was organised and hosted by club competition secretary Chris Robinson and his wife Sue, with guest MC our own Richard West. Presenting the awards former JEC Chairman Peter Purdom, Hawthorn Museum owner and curator Nigel Webb, sponsors James Ramm of and Alan Meaker of Toyo Tires along with our racing coordinator Colin Porter. We were also delighted to welcome former competition secretary Terry Dye and new wife Fiona and racing photographer Roger Gage and his wife Elsie, Roger also kindly provided photographic coverage of the evening along with six presentation photographs from the 2019 season.

Richard West introduced our Saloon & GT award winners interspersed with some humorous racing anecdotes from his many years in F1, Sports cars and BTCC and the awards were presented by Peter Purdom along with a bottle Champagne to each class winner (full list of award winners below). The 2019 Championship winner was presented to Chris Boon by our sponsors James Ramm & Alan Meaker, with his award Chris also received a magnum of Champagne. Other notable Saloon & GT awards went to; David Ringham (JEC Trophy Most improved driver), Michael Seabourne (Full Throttle Award for Best Newcomer), Dean Sewell (Jane Griffiths Hopwood Memorial Trophy for his contribution to the paddock, supplying vinyl graphics), Colin Philpott (Melvin Kirkham Trophy for Driver of the Year), Michael Holt (Outstanding drive of the season, for his one hour endurance race at Brands Hatch GP with CSCC taking his X300 from 20th to finish 5th) and to Swallows Racing ( The Spirit of Racing with Jaguar award for their outstanding contribution to JEC racing).

The XK Series awards were presented by Colin Porter with CKL Developments being awarded (Best prepared cars), Geoff Ottley (Spirit of XK Racing), Terry Fleet (Most Improved Driver collected by Claire Keith Lucas).

The Hawthorn Challenge awards were kindly presented by Nigel Webb and a number of significant awards were donated by Nigel, being original Hawthorn artefacts from his own collection, these included a splendid silver cigar box that once sat on Mike Hawthorn’s desk awarded to Glen Pearson ( the most aesthetically correct Mk1, collected on the evening by Dave Bye) and Hawthorn antique silver tray which went to John Young (overall best results Mk1), John Young also received the West Riding Independent Racing (outstanding season award) from owner Dave Bye. Michael O’Shea & David Hall received (the Spirit of Mk1 & Mk2 Racing picture) Glen Pearson (most improved driver) Derek Pearce (Best seasons performance in a Mk2, a huge trophy of twin Hawthorn Carbs!) West Riding; Dave Bye & Ben Walker (recognition in turning around Richard Butterfield’s Mk 1 follow a roll at Goodwood Revival and getting back out at Goodwood but also getting it to Castle Combe Autumn Classic two weeks later in a competitive state). Nigel Webb concluded this part of the evening with a presentation of a splendid bouquet to Sue Robinson in recognition of her hard work behind the scenes and supplying the paddock with refreshments throughout the season.

Chris Robinson sprang a wonderful and moving surprise on Derek Pearce with a special recognition award for Derek’s unique achievement of thirty-five years plus of continual Jaguar racing and recognised the contribution and support of Derek’s wonderful wife Janice with a beautiful bouquet of flowers.

Chris continued with the surprises, presenting some fun and light hearted awards to; Tim Morrant ( the Wooden Spoon, after his luckless season) Kevin Bourne ( Top Banana for straightening bent cars, presented by Tim who’s car ‘Merlin Bourne’ fixed) Colin Philpott (A Bully for ‘Look what you could have one’) Simon Lewis ( Don’t laugh at me award a twisted wooden spoon and brake fluid) Simon Dunford ( A mini Oscar for being brave enough to be himself). The evenings awards were concluded with voucher presentations from sponsor Toyo Tires with sets of Tyres going to Tim Morrant and Simon Dunford. A final special surprise from Chris presenting Richard West with a Gold Blue Peter badge for his contribution to the evening. The proceeding being concluded with a ten prize spot draw for a wonderful range of donated prizes, including a bottle of whiskey, dash cam, Norman Dewis DVD and cuddly Jaguar.

Jaguar Enthusiasts Club, Toyo Tires/ Saloon & GT award winners

2019 Champion; Chris Boon

Class A: 1st Dean Sewell, 2nd Dave Ringham, 3rd Simon Dunford

Class B: 1st Chris Boon, 2nd Daniel Stewart, 3rd Simon Lewis

Class C: 1st Michael Holt, 2nd Tom Lenthall, 3rd Rodney Frost

Class D: Colin Philpott, 2nd James Ramm, 3rd Tom Robinson

JEC newsletter

For regular updates about JEC and all things Jaguar, sign up for our newsletter

Stay informed

By signing up you will receive from us: Event and Club information, Information on the latest Club products, special offers and services and information on member benefits. We may use information you provide us to predict what communications you might be interested in receiving. You can of course unsubscribe at any time, details are in every newsletter.