First Time Jaguar Owner from Hartlepool

Moderator: J44EAG

A19KEV

First Time Jaguar Owner from Hartlepool

Postby A19KEV » Tue Jul 22, 2014 9:10 pm

Hello everyone,
Hope it's okay to introduce myself to such great and knowledgeable enthusiasts as yourselves. I'm Kevin - or 'Kev' - and I bought a very nice XJ6 Sovereign 2.7L Tdvi, last October. And I absolutely adore it!
So I'm very pleased to meet you all, and to have discovered this fantastic club. I've already spent hours in the forums; and my word you chaps know a thing or two about Jags. Fascinating!
I'm a bit new to the genre, but in the short time I've had my car, have learned a lot.
I was actually very nervous about buying a used Jag: I knew they were relatively cheap to buy, but thought it might cost a fortune to 'run'. Well, not really, although I have been done for speeding, twice. So I suppose you have to factor that in really. Maybe Jag owners should be exempt from such things. If Prescott was still around we could have lobbied him.
Anyway, I've been really chuffed with my car, and relieved that it has largely been really reliable. We have a good Franchise Dealer - Stratstone, Stockton, and their staff are pretty good. They offered an extended Warranty, £600 per annum. Sounds a lot; but it's been worth every penny for peace of mind; and it includes Jaguar Recovery Assistance, which is phenomenal. Forget the AA - these guys come out in a top-of-the-range Range Rover, and their uniforms are cleaner than some of my best clothes! Anyway, if they can't fix it they get it picked up, and give me a hired Jag pretty damn quick. I've had my money's worth out of it: on the M1 on Christmas Day, a nearside tyre blew out at 95mph in the fast lane. (Don't tell the police). I mean the tyre just exploded. I was astonished at how I somehow retained sufficient control to get to the hard shoulder without much ado. Maybe that's down to the car, not me; although I was sober, honest.