Question about my Series 3 restoration

Moderator: XjRestorations

Vidal

Question about my Series 3 restoration

Postby Vidal » Mon Jun 04, 2018 1:13 pm

Hi all, newbie here from Lancashire......

Wondered if I could pick your brains. I was gifted this beautiful Series 3 XJ6 about 6 years ago by a dear client and friend. It's got a lovely story which I won't bore you with but regrettably it was/is suffering serious rot to the rear arches and other areas.

I've also got a Lotus Esprit and a few bikes so I never got around to doing anything with this car although it drives like new.

I finally decided to have it collected this morning and taken to a reputable restorers. I appreciate that the works could be extensive and these 1980's Jaguars are limited in desirability and value so even though it cost me nothing I'm fully expecting to spend a good few thousand on it.

The initial agreement is for them to fully assess it so that we can agree a basic budget and scope of work.

My question is, taking in to account the sentimental value, at what point (cost) would you consider it too much money regardless of sentimental value?

I'm just interested in opinion rather than advice really as the decision will be very personal.

Anyway, assuming I go ahead, I'll keep you posted.

And for those interested, my 1979 Esprit:

davidr

Re: Question about my Series 3 restoration

Postby davidr » Mon Jun 04, 2018 6:14 pm

Hi Vidal - that looks a nice car and I love the interior!
Depending on how much needs to be done, it's likely that economic good sense will be one of the first casualties? After all, this isn't a Series 1 EType that will sell for £250k!
Having said that, if you like the car and are prepared to invest in it for the long term it may well appreciate enough to be worth what you spent on it.